Stupid Cupid.

Cupid Today is Valentine’s Day which has always been one of my 3 least fave. holidays, along with “Satan’s Day” ( Hallowe’en) and Father’s Day. As a teen and young adult guys never liked me and I was never asked out, never asked to dance, never sent Valentines, never asked for my phone number by boys, never went out on dates, never whistled at, etc. you get the idea. My hubby was the only boyfriend I’ve ever had and nothing changed as I got older. I was always ugly and invisible to guys, therefore  a holiday to celebrate love and romance like Valentine’s Day was always painful to me as it was a slap in the face, a reminder to me of what everyone else had that I didn’t, what I was always missing out on.

I have never had love or romance yet. I have loved a few people but they have never loved me back; just liked me as a friend. Even with my hubby and I there was never any love, passion, or romance, just a friendship that eventually grew into hostility, living separate lives,and barely able to tolerate one another and we  both  just “settled” because neither of us could do any better and no one else wanted either of us so we just got together.It’s not like someone like me has alot of choices, and the guys aren’t exactly lining up for me.

In the beginning my hubby used to make a big deal out of Valentine’s Day; he’d festoon a room with fancy twisted balloons and get me cute-sy stuffed toys and then when we used to have $$$$$ he’d get me jewellery…..but now I’m lucky if I even get a card. Half the time I’d just rather forget all about the entire thing as it’s all just over-marketed, over-blown,and over-done anyway and has become so “kitschy” and tacky.

Too bad it can’t just be like back when I was a kid in school and you had to include everyone and give Valentine’s cards to everyone in your class.

That way I could pretend to feel loved.