Day At The Dentist.

Dentist(new) I saw the dentist and had my filling done and there was another tooth beside it that needed work too so I had it done at the same time. They put in a white filling, unlike my old dentist who used silver fillings. I couldn’t see what they were doing, of course, but I heard lots of whirring, drilling, and buzzing.Half my face was frozen as well; my gums, teeth, lips, and even part of my lower nose and it took over 4 HRS to wear off! After that I had a deep cleaning (sort of like sand blasting for teeth)done which made my sensitive gums bleed( I only had 1/4 of my mouth done and it took 45 minutes, so I’ll have it done spaced out over 4 separate sessions; the next one being next week) and my jaws are sore from holding my mouth open for so long. I also could smell the hygenist’s hairspray and the scraping sound against my teeth gave me the heebie jeebies and I often gagged on the water and blood. Overall not what you’d call a “pleasant” experience. Once the numbness wore off where my cavity was feels like how a “sensitive” tooth feels, or like how a cavity feels when it’s exposed to cold air.The dentist said she’s also going to refer me to an oral surgeon to look into getting my severe over-bite and misaligned jaw fixed; it will help me bite and breathe better. The hygenist knows someone who had it done and said they wired her jaw shut after the surgery for 4 weeks and she had to eat thru a straw! If so, I’ll lose even more weight,too!

I also found out my surgery date is mid-April, so even earlier than I thought and I have to go to the hospital early next week for pre-op tests ( EKG, blood work,etc.) and it’s going to be a busy week as I also have the dental app’t, 3 days of church for Holy Week, my weekly visit with Patti, AND I’m going shopping with the girls next Saturday,too!   I think poor Buddy might have been bitten by something at 5:30 am when I let him out in the yard to go pee as well(he goes under the bush and it was dark and I couldn’t see): I heard him yelp loudly in pain and he ran into the house like a bat out of hell, limping and clearly afraid, so I comforted him and I noticed a swollen welt on the lower part of his back and the fur was standing up. I gave him a good checking over and there were no bite marks, puncture marks, wounds or bleeding luckily, so nothing broke the skin ( Rabies risk) so maybe he was stung by a wasp or something, perhaps, but whatever it was it hurt and scared him and I was really worried. I sent his former owner an e-mail asking when his last Rabies shot was and when he’s due for his vaccines but he said he didn’t remember.

The 11 YR old also asked when will we be dyeing Easter eggs and I totally forgot all about it. We’ve just been so busy( like always) we just don’t have the time and next week’s just going to be crazy busy(even more than usual) and this weekend is no better; the 8 YR old has a First Communion class at the Parish Centre, the 4 teens have a Cadets activity all day, my hubby and the 20 YR old have a first aid course, we have church and we hope to put up the trampoline for the season….there’s just never enough time to squeeze everything in. The 20 YR old also had another job interview and they said they’ll be calling him back sometime next week……fingers crossed…..

Leave a comment