Toronto.

Toronto So, you know how my hubby, the 14 and 16 YR olds and the 23 YR old’s GF went into Toronto the other day right? They stayed overnight at the second-oldest’s place and they went shopping at the Eaton Centre but the actual real, original reason that they went in was for a tour of the Toronto Film School that both the 14 and 16 YR olds are interested in for post-secondary. The tour they had booked for 6 pm and the directions on the GPS said the location was just 15 minutes away from where they were….except it didn’t take into account Toronto busy rush hour downtown traffic, so what should have just been a quick, short, and easy 15 minute drive actually ended up taking 90 minutes so they were late and missed their appointment and the tour.

It figures. Just our typical luck.

So, basically, they went all for nothing although at least they did have a nice adventure, a nice time away,and had fun shopping. Of the schools they were looking at for the future this one was the most expensive though; 2-3 times as much as regular colleges or universities, likely because it’s private, plus it doesn’t have a residence either, so there’s no place to live and renting in Toronto costs a fortune otherwise, on average over 2000$ a month just for a one bedroom apartment; I saw on the news the average cost for real estate there now is 1000$ per square foot. My mother said that was God’s way of saying they’re not meant to go there and should just concentrate on going elsewhere.

At least they did have fun shopping though, which is why the 23 YR old’s GF went actually, to shop. I mean they are all like sisters and they’re all girls, so shopping just comes naturally. That’s one of the things I miss most about the city,too; decent shopping and shopping malls. When I lived there I used to take a streetcar down to the Eaton Centre every Saturday, either with my mother or with friends; it just took me 15-20 minutes from my house and I was there. That mall was my home away from home. I even used to joke that I should have my mail sent there.