A Day With My BFF.

S1(new) I spent the day in the city yesterday with my oldest, dearest friend S. pictured here.  I’ve known her ever since we were 12, a YR after she moved from Korea. We spent the day shopping and visiting, catching up and remembering the old days. I met her at Tim Horton’s and I ordered a chocolate drink but didn’t know at first it had real cream and I didn’t have my pills so I had to buy diarrhrea pills at the pharmacy so I wouldn’t get caught on the long drive home stuck in the middle of the highway with the shits 8 HRS later! She had the 80’s radio station on in her car and we were singing the songs out loud remembering them from our past and we felt like teenagers again. My kids hate it when I do this but S and I belted them out joyfully together. As soon as she walked in the door I recognized her right away, she still looked the same, just a bit older, but I had been nervous at first, “What if I don’t recognize her anymore? What if she doesn’t recognize me? What if she thinks I look fat and ugly?” I don’t want her to be disappointed.

S2 S3In the mall we saw these swanky designer items like 2000$ shoes and pricey bags and clothing I took photos of as that’s the closest I’ll ever have of ever having it(ha,ha). We ate lunch at a Chinese place which she treated me to which I thought was nice and extra appreciated since I’m broke.She wore high heels( not the best thing for a day at the mall) and her feet were killing her so she stopped off and bought a pair of flats and changed and I bought a pair of new shoes( the purple high-top Converse I was looking for) and got blisters on my baby toes so the 2 of us were limping and hobbling along with our sore feet and felt like a couple of crippled old bags. We must have been a sorry sight to see!

S4  S also said her new Korean restaurant should hopefully be ready to open next week, and she fears she might have breast cancer and has to get a biopsy done: she has painful and growing cysts on both breasts! I hope it’s NOT cancer!She DOES smoke though so it really worries me of the possibility even more!!I can’t even imagine losing my BFF! She also said she’s in menopause for the past YR too( she’s 49, a YR older than me; they held her back a grade because she couldn’t speak English) and said she wants to move back to USA( where she spent her highschool and college YRS) as she likes it better than here as she’s “disappointed” with Canada as people here are more racist and mean(and she’s gotten alot of “Go back where you came from!” and other similar comments here) and they’re nicer in USA and not as racist( I agree; Canada sucks and it makes me embarrassed to be Canadian). I wish *I* could move out of here,too! Hey, maybe we can move together?

S5 Here is the new shoes I bought. S said she liked my new hair as well, and that I’d “lost weight” and she looked a bit heavier than the last time I saw her but still not fat like me and she doesn’t have any wrinkles either and no grey hair, but she does get her hair dyed,too. It was so nice seeing my old friend again! We have to do this again sometime soon! I can’t believe we’re almost 50 either; we’re 2 middle-aged ladies now but when we’re back together it feels like we’re kids again. Where has the time GONE? I can’t believe it’s been over some 35 YRS…..